Skip to main content

On January 18, 2017, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services awarded contracts to an additional 17 accountable care organizations (ACOs) to participate in the Next Generation ACO model. This brings the total participating ACOs to 45, up from 28 in late 2016. The goal of the Next Generation ACO Model is to provide financial incentives to provider organizations to improve care while reducing costs for Medicare fee-for-service beneficiaries.

The Next Generation participants are:

  1. Accountable Care Coalition of Chesapeake, Texas
  2. Accountable Care Coalition of Southeast Texas, Texas
  3. Accountable Care Options, Florida
  4. Allina Integrated Medical Network, Minnesota
  5. APA ACO, California
  6. Arizona Care Network, Arizona
  7. Atrius Health, Massachusetts
  8. Baroma Accountable Care, Florida
  9. Beacon Health, Maine
  10. Bellin Health, dba, Physician Partners, Wisconsin
  11. Bronx Accountable Healthcare Network IPA, New York
  12. Carilion Clinic Medicare Shared Savings Company, Virginia
  13. Cornerstone Health Enablement Strategic Solutions, North Carolina
  14. Dartmouth-Hitchcock Health, New Hampshire
  15. Deaconess Care Integration, Indiana
  16. Fairview Health Services, Minnesota
  17. HCP ACO California, California
  18. Henry Ford Physician Accountable Care Organization, Michigan
  19. Hill Physicians Medical Group, California
  20. Indiana University Health, Indiana
  21. Integra Community Care Network, Rhode Island
  22. Iowa Health Accountable Care, Iowa
  23. KentuckyOne Health Partners, Kentucky
  24. MemorialCare Regional, California
  25. Michigan Pioneer ACO, Michigan
  26. Monarch Health Plan, California
  27. National ACO, California
  28. Optum Accountable Care Organization, Arizona
  29. Park Nicollet Health Services, Minnesota
  30. Partners Community Physicians Organization, Massachusetts
  31. Physicians of Southwest Washington, Washington
  32. Pioneer Valley Accountable Care, Massachusetts
  33. Premier Health ACO of Ohio, Ohio
  34. ProHealth Solutions, Wisconsin
  35. Prospect ACO CA, California
  36. Prospect ACO Northeast, California
  37. Regal Medical Group, dba Heritage California ACO, California
  38. Sharp HealthCare ACO, California
  39. Luke’s Clinic Coordinated Care, Idaho
  40. Steward Integrated Care Network, Massachusetts
  41. ThedaCare ACO, Wisconsin
  42. Triad healthCare Network, North Carolina
  43. Trinity Health ACO, Michigan
  44. UNC Senior Alliance, North Carolina
  45. UT Southwestern Accountable Care Network, Texas

This was reported by Healthcare IT News on January 23, 2017.

Contact Information: Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244; 410-786-3000; Email:; Website:

Login to access The OPEN MINDS Circle Library. Not a member? Create your free account now!


Support Request

Need help now?

Call our toll-free phone number 877-350-6463